A Game Of Thrones | Book Review

A Song of Ice and Fire Book I: A Game Of Thrones
Published by: Bantam Books

Genre: Mystery, intrigue, romance, adventure, science-fiction.

Excerpt: 

In A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin has created a genuine masterpiece, bringing the best genre has to offer. Mystery, intrigue, romance and adventure fill the pages of the first volume in an epic series sure to delight fantasy fans everywhere.

In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the North of Winterfell, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a land of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale of lords and lades, soldiers and sorcerers, assasins and bastards who come together in a time of grim omens. Amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the Starks, their allies, and their enemies hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.

Review: 

I have watched Game of Thrones in HBO for some time now, and it’s honestly addicting. However, this is my review about the book:

It’s honestly just amazing as the films. But in the books, there are many scenes that they didn’t add on the films. The films are good, honestly, and the casting are so perfect. The way they are written in the books, that’s what they are in the films. However, Dany was supposed to have purple eyes but they changed it since Emilia Clarke was having trouble wearing contacts (as far as I can remember.)

GRRM wrote the book perfectly, leaving no scene unleft or unfinished and if you think there are plotholes, there’s none since it’s a series. He also describes the characters and scenes pretty well.

I finished reading the book for just three or four days, which is an achievement since it has 807 pages. I wasn’t really into swords and kings before but now I’m really addicted.

Reactions: (SPOILER ALERT. DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN’T WATCHED THE FILMS OR READ THE BOOKS.) 

There are so many missing scenes in the films! In the book, Old Nan was proving her points though she really did talk a lot. I don’t know if I can remember but in the first pages of the book, Old Nan told Bran that Hodor’s real name was Walder. I can’t remember if they said it in the films but that was just mind-blowing since in the films, Bran was so happy when he saw Hodor talk when he used his ability to warg.

Hodor has one of the most awful deaths in Game of Thrones, I didn’t really cry but it’s just so heartbreaking. Same thing that I felt when Wun-Wun died in Winterfell when he finally broke the doors.

Sansa in the books is so annoying, more annoying than Sansa in the films. He talks about Joffrey a lot and ugh. But I’m starting to like Sansa now since she’ve learned her lessons and her character is so changing and I like the change.

Margaery haven’t had a scene here in the first book but almost all men talk about her. I like Margaery in every possible ways! She’s sweet and gentle but has a little bit of her grandmother. The fate of Margaery and Ser Loras was awfully sad.

I dislike Cersei!! But without her the books and the films would be boring. Lena who played Cersei is such an amazing actress though in real life she’s so kind, according to other casts in GoT.

I hope Gendry and Arya meets again this 7th season. I’m really looking forward to it. I honestly do love all Starks, even Rickon. Book Rickon has contributed great parts whilst film Rickon is nonsense– admit it. I also hope Tyrion and Sansa gets a reunion since Sansa has grown so much! And I also expect that Arya returns home. I’d honestly **** myself if all of the Starks come home. It would be hard for Meera and Bran to go home but still…

Winter is here, buds. Can’t wait for the next season! I know I hope too much and GRRM has the ability to break everyone’s hearts, so I suppose I won’t get my hopes too high. .___.

See you in my next post! When the sun rises in the west, sets in the east. When the seas go dry. When the mountains blow in the wind like leaves.

Lol, kidding!! Haha see you!

5 thoughts on “A Game Of Thrones | Book Review

  1. True!! I’m beginning to like Sansa a lot more than the past seasons since she’s grown a lot. I want to read the next books to see the difference in it from the films but I’m only in the 2nd book yet. Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

